Ownership & Governance

Pioneers Medical Center is operated by the Eastern Rio Blanco County Health Service District, and is governed by a publicly elected, seven-member Board of Directors. Currently, the Board of Directors includes Dick Welle – President; Kim Brown – Vice President; Karolyn Michalewicz – Secretary; Bill Jordan, Kai Turner, Steve Parr, and Mike Hoke.

These Directors represent the diversity of our community and our eastern Rio Blanco County service area. The Directors serve as volunteers, receiving no monetary compensation for their services.

The Board of Directors governs all programs and services of the Hospital, Walbridge Wing, Meeker Family Health Center, and Pioneers Hospital Home Care.

The Board of Directors creates the Mission, Vision, and Strategic Plans that guide Pioneers Medical Center, as well as approving policies and providing direction and oversight as trustees. The Board is responsible for (1) quality health care services (2) maintenance of professional, quality, and ethical standards of health care, (3) assuring sound financial and operational management, and 4) compliance with legal and regulatory requirements,. The Board of Directors also approves the selection and appointment of all qualified professional providers to the Medical Staff.

Board meetings are held monthly on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 12:00 PM. Directors also serve on committees such as the Quality Council, Finance Committee, Joint Conference Committee, Compliance Committee, and Facilities Committee. In addition to internal educational activities, Directors are encouraged to attend regional and national continuing education meetings to keep abreast of issues and trends affecting the delivery of health care.

2016 Annual Board Posting